Why I am different from most commercial schools.

I have had many enquiries on why anyone should learn from me and not go to a commercial school. First off, I have nothing against any music schools out there, and I’m very sure there are capable teachers in those said schools. However, if you don’t have anyone to point you to the right teachers, it makes your journey with music a less appreciated one.

I use both the Suzuki method and the traditional pedagogy methods. But my classes are not just about imparting my knowledge to a student. My classes also encompass building of character, discipline and respect.

Building of character/ behaviour, is a very broad subject and a very individual one too. I don’t have a set doctrine or guideline to it. It is very much dependant on the student that I teach individually. And I do recognise that everyone is different. There is no child that is stupid, there’s only laziness. And laziness happens because they always have things their way or parents are not firm with them. But again, this is a very broad subject.

Discipline, learning music is like becoming an athlete. You need a very strict routine daily and must stick to it regardless. Through discipline one would also learn to exercise self-control. And self-control is very very important in music.

Respect, I am an asian with asian values. This one thing that I do not allow my students to lack in. Without respect, one would be a tyranny in the society and would only think about, and for, himself/ herself.

I am a very strict teacher, and would not hesitate to confront parents if I think that a child has repeatedly make the same mistake, despite many lessons of corrections. And I will not tolerate disrespectful and ill-disciplined child in my presence. I am not an advocate of corporal punishments but I do mete out consequences. I do not find joy in scolding nor do I enjoy punishing children, but all I ask of students is to have something achieved by the next lesson, no matter how small the achievement may be.

Hence, that’s where I am different. Because learning is not just absorbing knowledge, it is also about the entire well-being of a student.

Leave a comment